2 weeks on the job and our diagnosis is…

Following our lab initiative, two amazingly talented individuals have now joined our team. We thought it was only fair to give them a chance to tell you how they are both settling in.

the-lab-logo

“Some future industry leaders are born. Others are made in The Lab.”

Jonathan Webb – Creative Executive

I have arrived at the end of my second Friday now with the creative team at PLBR and what a two weeks it has been.

I have already been included in numerous projects, which has given me great insight into our current work and the clients we are dealing with. Initially the NAUBE (Numerous Acronyms Used By Everyone) were difficult to grasp, but such is the nature of the healthcare sector I suppose. I feel I have assimilated smoothly into my new job, largely due to the fact that everyone on the PLBR team have been incredibly accommodating, friendly and an all-round great bunch of people.

Any difficulties? Adjusting to working as a team. I have worked as part of a team in many capacities before, but never in a creative one. I have always been the lone ranger artist, I come up with concepts and I know how I want it to look, so I make it that way. Coming to a team environment I have to reign in how I think it should look, and contribute to something to how we all think it should look. I’m getting there sooner than I thought.

JonI feel I have definitely contributed, I feel I at least add a different perspective when looking at things, which is always a great addition to a team of already creative people. I got a few strange looks when I broke out the watercolours instead of designing something digitally, but the end product of what I made people really liked, and was used to show the client one of the concepts, so I’m happy whether I was being placated or not. Taking it ‘old school’, I might just help start a campaign in pastels, not pixels.

All in all, I have loved my time here so far and I don’t want it to end! To know I’m getting paid to do something I love, with really great people is a clichéd ‘dream come true’. Two and a half hour creative brainstorms seem to fly by, and I walk out of the meeting room with a buzz. I feel that I have barely scratched the surface of what I can introduce into this industry. Hopefully, given time, I can shine like the ‘bright spark’ The Lab was looking for.

Amma Osei-Owusu – Account Executive

So the morning of the 28th of October had dawned. And since finding out that I had won a place on the LAB, my mind had not stopped buzzing about all the excitement that lay in store for me. I’d frequently find myself ticking off the days and hours in my mental calendar anticipating my first day, and alas, here it was and not a second too late or a moment too early. Reminiscent of a child on Christmas Morning I found could barely contain my excitement; evidenced by the fact that I was up literally at the crack of dawn! No, I hadn’t lost my mind, it just didn’t occur to me at this point that perhaps I should get some more rest, as far as I was concerned I needed to prepare. Training as a territorial army Cadet had taught me to leave nothing to chance and nothing was going to be left to chance. A woman on a mission I set about executing my regimented plan, dogmatically working out how I was going to manage and dodge any potential mishap and unexpected cannon balls that might threaten to throw me off. I was determined to have the best possible start. I was preparing for what I saw as break of a new dawn and oh boy was I ready for it. And what of self-doubt? Quietly extinguished with a burning yet precautious confidence. I Love a challenge I re-assured myself, bring on the LAB!

Amma

The following two weeks flew by like a whirlwind, there was so much to process so quickly, a storm of buzzwords and a hurricane of acronyms being thrown with jargon language flying between them. The task of swallowing them up seemed mammoth at first but with the support of my new colleagues I became partially fluent in this new alien language. I must have been asked a 1001 times about how I was finding my experience, caught off guard and still basking in the shock of it all, I’m pretty sure I replied 1001 times that It was “erm good ..Yeah amazing so far” it seems concentrating in picking up this new vocabulary had conversely limited the range of my existing vocabulary.

Also, I have never been to so many meetings in such a short space of time. From catch up meetings with the Account Executive team in fabulous Soho, to breakfast meetings with Keelie and lunch and learn/account overview meetings within the office, the interaction between staff is fantastic. As well as discovering that I’ll never go hungry here (because of the endless supply of food) I’ve found the communication infrastructure within this agency to be so incredibly efficient, which is vital because with so much going on concerning various clients and projects things could quite easily get extremely manic very quickly. However with effective dialogue streams opened across all sections that is; from the clients to account managers, from the account managers to the creative team and from the creative team to the studio, the process of work progresses very efficiently. In short, things get done and get done well. I can’t wait to discover what else I will learn from this experience, there is so much to pick up on its great. I guess I’m just a sponge soaking it all up.

Leave a Reply

