A View from the Top

There is something about seeing a breathtaking sight for the first time that stays with you forever, painting a vivid picture in your memory. For me, that is the sunrise over Haleakala volcano, Maui.

Waking up to watch the sun rise over a volcano didn’t seem so inspiring at 3am. Being told that despite temperatures soaring later in the day we would have to put on full waterproofs and leathers to keep us warm made me so snug and sleepy I instantly wanted to go back to bed. However, by 4am I found myself standing on what felt like the top of the world at 10,000 feet.

Stepping out into the cold morning air, I was able to appreciate why this is one of the best stargazing locations in the world. With no light pollution and being above one third of the Earth’s atmosphere, I was enchanted by the clear sky perfect for watching some of the most stunning celestial bodies.

Stretched out before me in the moonlight was the otherworldly expanse of cratered rock – I waited patiently for the horizon to start to brighten with the promise of a new day. With a new dawn emerging from over the horizon in an orange glowing ball was breath-taking, to say the least.

With the first sight of a new day casting shadows across the dimples of the crater of Haleakala, I waited and hoped to be rewarded with a clear sky. As the dawn brightened and the clouds cleared, I could see as far as the ocean, blue and quiet.

In the silence and stillness of the moment, you feel like you are the only person to have ever seen such a beautiful vista, and contemplate that you will never see a sunrise exactly like that again.

Author – Anisha Patel, Account Executive

Leave a Reply

